Fido review

Updated September 30, 2026 · TariffCue Editorial Team · Facts checked September 30, 2026

We earn a commission when you sign up through links on this site. Partner status can affect where a brand appears in our rankings.

Our verdict

Fido sells its own network lines in Canada, billed monthly, with SIM only plans, eSIM, hotspot sharing and roaming across 180 countries. It suits Canadian households that want talk, text and data from a single provider, and its rating here is 8.7.

Key facts

Best for
Canadian households wanting one network for talk, text, data and travel, billed monthly.
Seller type
Network (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
SIM-only
Yes (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Price from
CA$25 (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Reference plan prices
Talk and Text: $25 per month, data not stated, monthly; 60GB 5G BYOD: $50 per month, 60GB, monthly; 2 lines from $95 per month, data not stated, monthly (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
5G
Yes (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
eSIM
Yes (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Roaming countries
180 (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Hotspot sharing
Yes (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Multi-line discount
Yes (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Markets
CA (Source, checked September 30, 2026)
Official website
fido.ca

Apps and profiles

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Fido sells as network, so the line runs on the provider's own coverage and one monthly bill carries talk, text and data.
  • The reference prices are monthly throughout, and they cover a talk and text option, a data plan for people bringing their own device, and a multi line option on top of the CAD 25 entry tier.
  • eSIM is supported and hotspot sharing is available, so a line can be activated digitally and then shared with a laptop or tablet.
  • Roaming covers 180 countries, so leaving the home market does not mean carrying a second provider's SIM.

Cons

  • Fido's entry price of CAD 25 sits above yesss! at €0 and Lonestar Cell MTN at $0.20, so it is not the cheapest way to open a line.
  • Data costs more than talk and text: CAD 25 buys the talk and text plan, and the data allowance arrives only on a higher reference plan price.
  • Fido runs in a single market, CA, so a customer who needs service in other regions will find nothing here for that part of the trip.
Fido

Ready to try Fido?

Scored 8.7 / 10 by TariffCue.

Who it suits

  • Canadian households that want talk, text and data from the same provider on monthly billing.
  • Travellers leaving Canada who need a single number working across 180 countries.
  • Families adding several lines, since Fido offers a multi line discount and a multi line reference price.

Who should look elsewhere

  • Price-first buyers, who should read yesss! at €0 and Lonestar Cell MTN at $0.20 against Fido's CAD 25.
  • Shoppers who want a stated data allowance at the entry price, since the data allowance on the talk and text plan is unstated in the reference prices, and a provider such as GETESA at XAF 300 is a separate comparison altogether.

What it does well

Fido's plans are SIM only, so a line can be started without taking a handset bundle alongside it. eSIM is supported, which means a new number or a ported number can be activated without waiting for a card to arrive in the post. Hotspot sharing lets a phone hand its connection to a laptop or tablet, which covers the spots where a single line is not enough. Roaming covers 180 countries, so the same number keeps working once a trip leaves the country. Families with more than one line can use the multi line discount, and that is where a household running several users sees the per line cost fall furthest.

How Fido compares

Where Fido is available

Available
Canada

Countries from the brand (Source, checked September 30, 2026)

Frequently asked questions

What does Fido cost to start with?+

Fido's entry price is CAD 25. The reference prices are billed monthly throughout, so the entry figure reads as the ongoing monthly cost rather than a promotion that ends. The talk and text plan sits at that level with its data allowance unstated, while a data plan and a multi line option are listed higher.

Does Fido sell SIM only plans or plans with a phone?+

Fido's plans are SIM only, so there is no handset bundle attached to the line. The reference prices cover talk and text, a data plan for people bringing their own device, and a multi line option, each billed monthly. eSIM is supported on the same plans, so a line can be activated digitally on a compatible handset.

Does Fido offer eSIM?+

Yes, eSIM is supported alongside the SIM only plans. A new line, a ported number or a swapped handset can be activated without waiting for a card to arrive, and a traveller can install the line before arriving in Canada. Hotspot sharing sits on the same service, so a phone can pass its connection to a laptop where coverage is thin.

Where does Fido's service run?+

Fido operates in Canada, a single market, so it suits people living in Canada and does not stretch to a wider footprint. Anyone who needs a service that travels across several regions should read a provider that lists more markets, and check roaming separately, because roaming covers 180 countries for trips beyond the home market.

Is there a discount for more than one line?+

A multi line discount is available, and the reference prices include a multi line option with its own monthly figure. For a household with several users that is where the bill moves most, because each extra line is cheaper than opening it alone. The CAD 25 entry price applies to the single line talk and text plan, so the discount only helps once another line is added.

How much roaming does Fido include?+

Roaming covers 180 countries, which is the part that matters for anyone crossing a border rather than staying in a single market. Fido runs in Canada, so the roaming list is what extends the service outside the home market. The reference prices do not fold roaming into the monthly figures, so check the roaming terms before booking a long trip.

Is Fido the network itself or a reseller?+

Fido sells as network, so the plans come from the carrier itself rather than a third party reselling someone else's coverage. That shapes how the line is provisioned and billed, and the reference prices list monthly billing on the carrier's own plans. Buyers comparing virtual operators should expect a different billing relationship for a similar data allowance.

How does Fido's entry price compare with other providers?+

Fido's entry price is CAD 25, higher than yesss! at €0 and Lonestar Cell MTN at $0.20, and lower than GETESA at XAF 300. On this comparison it ranks 223 of 258 brands on entry price, so cheaper starting points exist for anyone whose budget decides the choice.

Sources

  • fido.ca checked September 30, 2026

    Backs: Markets, Multi-line discount

    “Canada-wide 5G fit for your budget”

  • fido.ca/mobility/roaming checked September 30, 2026

    Backs: Roaming countries

    “Use your number and data in 180+ destinations”

  • fido.ca/plans checked September 30, 2026

    Backs: Hotspot sharing, Price from, Reference plan prices, Seller type, SIM-only

    “hotspot access and unlimited international texts”

  • fido.ca/support/mobility/everything-you-need-to-know-abou... checked September 30, 2026

    Backs: ESIM, 5G

    “Your current SIM or eSIM works with 5G”

Compiled from 4 source pages, checked September 30, 2026. We did not open an account.

Not confirmed yet: Billing, Unlimited plan price, Contract length.

Fido

Fido

Canadian households wanting one network for talk, text, data and travel, billed monthly.

8.7/10See alternatives